News story 23rd Jun 2017

Celebrating Excellence Awards 2017

Monash Business School has celebrated the outstanding achievements of our academic and professional staff and our students at the Celebrating Excellence Awards 2017.

More than 800 staff, students and industry supporters attended the event, held at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre on Thursday 25 May.

John Zeigler

The keynote address was delivered by John Zeigler, alumnus and Monash Business School Professorial Fellow. Mr Zeigler is the former Chairman and CEO of DDB Group Asia Pacific, one of the most successful agency networks in the region.

The awards ceremony celebrated the recipients of the 2016 Dean’s Awards for research, teaching and professional excellence, as well as the awards for highest achieving graduates.

This year two new awards were also introduced, acknowledging student excellence and alumni achievement.

Students Morgan Stevens and Katherine Wood were awarded the Future Global Leaders Award 2017, which recognises students committed to the development of sustainable business practices.

Alumni Excellence Award 2017

Professor Gary Sampson

Professor Gary Sampson was awarded the inaugural Alumni Excellence Award 2017.

Monash Business School Dean Professor Colm Kearney said the Alumni Achievement Award was designed to celebrate graduates who have achieved excellence in their professional or work life.

“Professor Gary Sampson was our first PhD graduate in Economics within the then Faculty of Economics and Politics,” he said.

“This award recognises the contribution Gary has made to the discipline of economics.”

Professor Sampson served as the highest placed Australian at the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT).

He is involved in thought leadership forums and seminars for Monash Business School and will present on Global Political Economy in the Monash MBA and Executive MBA Programs in the future.

Future Global Leaders Award 2017

The Future Global Leaders Award recognises students who are committed to the development of sustainable businesses and practices that contribute to the economic, environmental and social development of communities.

This year’s undergraduate award went to Morgan Stevens, who is currently studying a Bachelor of Business (Accounting). The graduate award went to Katherine Wood, who is completing a Master of Business Economics.

“Morgan and Katherine demonstrate the drive and ambition to become global leaders in the future,” said Professor Kearney.

2016 Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr Nathan Eva, Department of Management
Dr Mukesh Garg, Department of Accounting
Charanjit Kaur, Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics
Dr Zoltan Murgulov, Department of Banking and Finance

2016 Dean's Award for Research Impact

Team of Dr Carla Ferraro, Dr Sean Sands, Professor Peter Danahar, Professor Tracey Danaher from the Australian Consumer, Retail and Services (ACRS) Research Unit, Department of Marketing

2016 Dean’s Award for Research Excellence by an Early Career Researcher

Dr Nicole Black, Centre for Health Economics
Dr Jasmina Ilicic, Department of Marketing

2016 Dean’s Award for Research Excellence

Professor Dianne Cook, Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics
Associate Professor Paul Raschky, Department of Economics
Associate Professor Carolyn Sutherland, Department of Business Law and Taxation
Professor Kathleen Riach, Department of Management

Mollie Holman Medal and Donald Cochrane Scholarships

Also on the night, the 2016 Mollie Holman Medal was presented to Dr Susan O’Leary from the Department of Accounting in recognition of her outstanding doctoral thesis.

The recipients of the Donald Cochrane Postgraduate Research Scholarship were also announced:

Lina Zhang
Zhenyang Bao
Jia’en Carolyn Lo

Click here for a complete list of award recipients, commendations and Dean’s Honour Roll.